Optimize This

I have been using Windows VISTA for quite some time now (me being a Microsoft employee this is a given!). Generally, I am OK with it (and I really like things like the sidebar or WPF, natch) but my Toshiba Tecra M4 tablet PC has been misbehaving quite a lot under Vista – hardware failures, beta-quality drivers that really need upgrades and other not so nice things have put a bit of a dent in my enthusiasm lately (please note that this is more an issue with Toshiba build quality than Vista, but still …). Today, I have decided to not only clean up my computer but also tweak Vista a bit to increase performance. I have found a great step-by-step guide that lists the most sensible Vista tweaks: http://www.tweakhound.com/vista/tweakguide/index.htm. I have done some (not all) of the listed tweaks and I have to say, my machine feels much snappier now. It is really hard to find a good set of tweaks because there is a lot of bad-researched, ill-advised crap out there … but I can recommend this one.

Cheers
Koestie

Leave a Reply

